Chicken House

The Publishing House and its History

Chicken House Germany is a collaboration of two successful publishing houses: Carlsen and the English publisher The Chicken House. Barry Cunningham, founder and publisher of The Chicken House, is well known for sourcing new and promising talent. He introduced Cornelia Funke to the English and American book markets and also discovered famous authors Kevin Brooks and J. K. Rowling.

Chicken House Germany presents a selection of the best and most successful books from the English publishing house as well as original German titles. 2010 was the first program launching with six titles; amongst them was Rachel Ward's highly acclaimed and successful debut »Numbers – Den Tod im Blick«. The program is also enriched by the gripping and thrilling stories by authors like Veronica Cossanteli, Maz Evans, Barbara Laban, M. G. Leonard and Dan Smith.

Program

Chicken House represents new authors, who tell exceptional, extraordinary and fast-paced stories, and publishes a high number of debut novels. The target audience is boys and girls aged 10-16 with a knack for fast and intense stories. All of the books are very gripping, making it impossible for the reader to put the book down.

Chicken House covers a wide range of children’s and young adult literature, including titles such as the touching children book »Scarlett – Ein Löffelchen Geheimnis und der Duft von Magie« by Laurel Remington, the enchanting coming-of-age novel »Dance. Love. Learn. Repeat« by Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivison, the witty and thrilling novels by Maz Evans (most recent »Götter allein zu Haus«) and last but not least James Dashner's international bestseller series ›Maze Runner. Die Auserwählten‹.

Events

All events in German language!

Currently no events. Visit the publisher’s website for up-to-date events (visit website).

Contact

CHICKEN HOUSE CARLSEN Verlag GmbH

Völckersstraße 14-20
22765 Hamburg

Germany

Phone +49 (0)40 398 04-0

info@carlsen.de
www.chickenhouse.de

Contact Person

Publishers Renate Herre, Joachim F. Kaufmann

Program Anja Kemmerzell

Sales Carsten Hiller

Marketing Sandra Bönninger

Public Relations Hilke Schenck
Hilke.Schenck@carlsen.de

Foreign Rights Daniela Steiner

Chicken House

Der Verlag und seine Geschichte

Chicken House Deutschland ist eine Kooperation von zwei Erfolgsverlagen: dem Carlsen Verlag und dem englischen Verlag The Chicken House. Barry Cunningham, Gründer und Verleger von The Chicken House, zeichnet sich durch ein Gespür für neue vielversprechende Talente aus: Er brachte Cornelia Funke auf den englischen und amerikanischen Buchmarkt und entdeckte Erfolgsautoren wie Kevin Brooks und nicht zuletzt
J. K. Rowling.

Bei Chicken House Deutschland erscheinen eine Auswahl der besten und erfolgreichsten Bücher des englischen Verlags sowie deutsche Originalausgaben. 2010 ging das erste Programm mit sechs Titeln an den Start, darunter Rachel Wards vielbeachtetes und erfolgreiches Debüt »Numbers – Den Tod im Blick«. Neben ihr prägen seitdem Autoren wie Sophia Bennett, Kirsty McKay, Barbara Laban, M. G. Leonard oder James Dashner mit ihren packenden Geschichten das Programm.

Programm

Chicken House steht für neue Autoren, die außergewöhnlich schreiben und rasant erzählen. Deshalb zeichnet sich das Programm durch eine hohe Anzahl an Debüts aus. Es richtet sich an Jungen und Mädchen zwischen zehn und 16 Jahren, die schnelle und handlungsintensive Geschichten lieben. Denn eines ist allen Büchern gemein: Sie packen den Leser von der ersten Seite an und lassen ihn so schnell nicht mehr los.

Chicken House deckt eine große Bandbreite an Kinder- und Jugendliteratur ab: von den verrückten und charmanten Freundschaftsgeschichten »Käferkumpel« und »Käferqueen« von M. G. Leonard, über das rasante und witzige Kinderbuch »Die Götter sind los« von Maz Evans bis zu aufwühlenden Liebesgeschichten wie Sophia Bennetts »Lovesong«. Und nicht zu vergessen: Die actionreichen Romane von Dan Smith (zuletzt »Shut Down«), Anna Day (»Fanatic«) sowie James Dashners internationale Bestseller-Serie ›Maze Runner. Die Auserwählten‹, die erfolgreich fürs Kino verfilmt wurde.

Veranstaltungen

Keine aktuellen Veranstaltungen. Besuchen Sie auch die Website des Verlags, um sich über aktuelle Termine zu informieren (zur Website).

Kontakt

CHICKEN HOUSE CARLSEN Verlag GmbH

Völckersstraße 14-20
22765 Hamburg

Deutschland

Tel. +49 (0)40 398 04-0

info@carlsen.de

Ansprechpartner

Verlagsleitung Renate Herre, Joachim F. Kaufmann

Programm Anja Kemmerzell

Vertrieb Carsten Hiller

Marketing N.N.

Presse Hilke Schenck
Hilke.Schenck@carlsen.de

Rechte und Lizenzen Daniela Steiner