Globi Verlag

© 2018 Globi Verlag

Globi and his History

»I know something, come with me! We’ll have fun and you will see!« With this friendly invitation, Globi entered the world of children’s literature in 1932. He has won the hearts of young and old alike ever since. Globi was created as a marketing idea to commemorate the 25th anniversary of the Swiss department store, »Globus«. His early role as an advertising figure eventually developed into a booming career as an independent character and popular cult figure. Globi’s first book appearance in 1935, »Globi’s Trip Around the World« has been followed by 87 further volumes. A long term success story unique to Swiss children’s literature!

The illustrator Robert Lips (who died in 1975) gave Globi his inimitable visual style and Alfred Bruggmann wrote the rhyming verses of the first books. Since 1935, a new Globi Classic Book has been produced nearly every year. The Globi Publishing Company was founded on September 21st, 1944. Today, Globi Publishing continues as an imprint of Orell Fussli Publishers.

The Globi program is in continual development. In addition to the »Classic Globi« books, we produce the educational ›Globi Knowledge‹ series, and even Globi’s cook books for children. Another spin-off is Globi's little friend, »Glöbeli« and Globi’s perky and unusual friend »Globine«.

»I know something, come with me! We’ll have fun and you will see!«

Papa Moll and his History

The first Papa Moll adventure was penned by Edith Oppenheim-Jonas in 1952. In the beginning, the stories appeared exclusively in the »Junior« magazine. Since 1975, Papa Moll has been part of Globi Publishing. From this point onwards, new Papa Moll books have been produced. Today, new books appear annually. There are presently 30 Papa Moll books in print. An energetic, helpful and many-faceted father of three, Papa Moll always has the best of intentions in all that he does. However, he almost always has spectacularly bad luck resulting in hilarious stories which include his beloved Mama Moll, and their children, Evi, Fritz and Willy. Another popular figure is the Moll’s family pet, »Chips« the cheeky dachshund.

Edith Oppenheim-Jonas (1907-2001) - the Creator of Papa Moll

In many ways, Papa Moll reflects the biography of his author, Edith Oppenheim-Jonas. Her father, an engineer, inventor and passionate chess player, resembles the figure of Papa Moll. Her mother, too, was a probable influence. Her own children and family life have also provided inspiration for the stories.

Successful Products of Globi and Papa Moll

Each year, around 160,000 Globi books and some 35,000 Papa Moll books are sold. Additionally, recorded stories on cassettes and CD are popular as well, resulting in annual sales of 130,000. In total, more than 12.6 million Globi products and about one million Papa Moll books have been sold.

Globi and Moll appear at approximately 280 events annually in book shops, shopping centers and children’s birthday parties.

Preview Catalogues

Events

All events in German language!

Currently no events. Visit the publisher’s website for up-to-date events (visit website).

Contact

Globi Verlag

Orell Füssli Verlag
Dietzingerstrasse 3
Postfach
8036 Zürich

Switzerland

Phone +41 (0)44 466 73-18

info@globi.ch
www.globi.ch

Contact Person

Program Director Gisela Klinkenberg
gisela.klinkenberg@ofv.ch

Sales René Busse
+41 (0)44 466 74 37
rene.busse@ofv.ch

Marketing/Events Alexandra Kuchler
+41 (0)44 46673 18
alexandra.kuchler@ofv.ch

Public Relations Stephanie Fabian
+41 (0)44 466 74 28
stephanie.fabian@ofv.ch

Foreign Rights Sindhya Bergamin
sindhya.bergamin@ofv.ch

NonBook Rights and Merchandising Sarah Zollinger
+41 (0)44 466 72 68
sarah.zollinger-keiser@ofv.ch

Globi Verlag

Der Verlag und seine Geschichte

»Ich weiss etwas, das zeig ich Euch, kommt alle in mein lustig Reich«. Mit dieser Einladung trat Globi 1932 in die Welt der Kinder und eroberte auf Anhieb alle Herzen. Geboren wurde Globi aufgrund einer pfiffigen Marketingidee anlässlich des 25jährigen Jubiläums des Schweizer Warenhauses Globus. Seine anfängliche Karriere als vielbeschäftigte Werbefigur gipfelte schließlich in Globis Erfolg als eigenständige Buch- und Kultfigur. Seit dem ersten Buch »Globis Weltreise« (1935) sind bis heute 86 weitere Bände erschienen. Eine Erfolgsstory, die ihresgleichen sucht.

Der Zeichner Robert Lips (gestorben 1975) gab der Figur ihre unverwechselbare Gestalt und Alfred Bruggmann dichtete die Verse der ersten Bände. Ab 1935 kam fast jedes Jahr ein neuer Globi-­Klassik-Band heraus. Am 21. September 1944 wurde für Globi ein Verlag gegründet. Heute wird der Globi Verlag als Imprint im Orell Füssli Verlag geführt.

Die Palette der Globi Bücher umfasst heute die Globi Klassik-Bände, GlobiWissen, Globi Kochbücher und verschiedene weitere Bände. Auch im Programm ist Glöbeli, der kleine Freund von Globi, sowie Globine, Globis Kumpeline, ein keckes und außergewöhnliches Mädchen.

»Ich weiss etwas, das zeig ich Euch, kommt alle in mein lustig Reich«

Papa Moll und seine Geschichte

1952 entstand Papa Moll aus der Feder von Edith Oppenheim-Jonas. Zuerst erschienen die ­Geschichten einzeln in den Junior-Heften. Seit 1975 gehört Papa Moll zum Globi Verlag. Ab jetzt werden, zuerst vereinzelt, dann jährlich, Bücher herausgegeben. Der umtriebige, hilfs­bereite und vielseitige Familienvater, der es immer so gut meint, und gerade damit immer wieder Pech hat, bespielt mittlerweile 29 Bände. Sie beinhalten lustige und abwechslungsreiche Episoden aus dem lebendigen Familienleben. Papa Moll erlebt sie mit seiner geliebten Mama Moll, den Kindern Evi, ­­Fritz und Willy und dem frechen Dackel Tschips. Im Herbst 2017 wird Papa Moll die Leinwand erobern und im Kino zu sehen sein.

Edith Oppenheim-Jonas (1907-2001) – die Erfinderin von Papa Moll

Die Geschichte des Papa Moll spiegelt die Geschichte seiner Schöpferin Edith ­Oppenheim-Jonas. Ihr Vater, ein Ingenieur, Erfinder und passionierter Schachspieler, trägt die Züge von Papa Moll. Auch die Mutter ist wohl Vorbild. Aber auch die eigene Familie von Edith Oppenheim-Jonas bietet den Stoff für die Geschichten.

Erfolgsprodukte von Globi und Papa Moll

Jährlich finden rund 160.000 Globi-Bücher, gegen 35.000 Papa Moll-Bände und rund 130.000 ­Hörspiele auf MC und CD und viele weitere Globi- und Papa-Moll-Produkte ihre begeisterten Abnehmer. Bis heute wurden insgesamt über 9,7 Millionen Globi-Produkte und rund 1 Million Papa Moll-Bücher verkauft.

Globi und Papa Moll bestreiten jährlich gegen 250 ­Veranstaltungen in Buchhandlungen, ­Einkaufszentren, an Kindergeburtstagen und weiteren Anlässen.

Aktuelle Vorschauen

Veranstaltungen

Keine aktuellen Veranstaltungen. Besuchen Sie auch die Website des Verlags, um sich über aktuelle Termine zu informieren (zur Website).

Kontakt

Orell Füssli Verlag AG

Dietzingerstrasse 3
Postfach
8036 Zürich

Schweiz

Tel. +41 (0)44 466 73-18

info@globi.ch

Ansprechpartner

Leitung Gisela Klinkenberg
gisela.klinkenberg@ofv.ch

Marketing/Vertrieb/Veranstaltungen Anna Galizia
+41 (0)44 466 73 18
anna.galizia@ofv.ch

Presse Ronny Förster
+41 (0)44 466 73 85
ronny.foerster@ofv.ch

Rechte und Lizenzen Sindhya Bergamin
sindhya.bergamin@ofv.ch

NonBook Lizenzen und Merchandising Sarah Zollinger
+41 (0)44 466 72 68
sarah.zollinger-keiser@ofv.ch