Kaufmann Verlag

© Aus: »Nur Mut, kleiner Drache!« von Kristin Lückel (Illustration Regine Altegoer)

The Publishing House and its History

The Advent calendars and storybooks by Kaufmann have accompanied many of today’s parents and grandparents throughout their childhood.

Founded more than 200 years ago, Kaufmann is one of the publishing houses with the most long-standing tradition in Germany. Kaufmann has always been a liberal protestant publisher with a distinctively ecumenical editorial policy. In the last decade the publishing house has positioned itself more strongly in the consumer market with its sales activities in kindergartens, a market-leading children’s Christmas program, with picture- and storybooks, exercise books for preschoolkids and – last but not least – with narrative books for adults, with annual calendars and gift books for many occasions.

Kaufmann offers about 80 new publications every year and has about 400 available titles in its backlist.

We love stories!

Program

Kaufmann places a special focus within its children’s book segment on Advent calendars: They tell stories, encourage creativity and are elaborate and beautiful in their design. The Advent calendars range from large wall calendars with 24 booklets inside, to books with add-ons like posters, 3D-stickers, window pictures, paper crafting elements or puzzle Advent calendars. The illustrations of the picture- and storybooks for younger kids are equally beautiful and distinguished. The stories deal with the environment of children and the smaller and bigger challenges of growing up.

Another emphasis of the children’s book- program lies on the topic of religion. Kaufmann is especially known for its award-winning children’s Bibles, which are recognized as some of the best on the market. Additionally, Mini-Bibles, Advent and Easter calendars as well as narrative books are part of the religious spectrum. Beautifully illustrated gift and friend albums accompany the major events in the life of a child, such as baptism, kindergarten, first day of school, the First Communion and confirmation. They help to remember and preserve these important days of a child’s life.

Since 2013, the well-known and popular series ›Zwergenstübchen‹, with its cooking and baking books for the whole family, is being republished by Kaufmann. In addition to several reprints, new ›Zwergenstübchen‹ books are published every year.

For several years, various puzzle-, practice-, play- and learningbooks are part of the Kaufmann program. The colorful exercises can sometimes be solved with an enclosed pencil, sometimes with chalk, stamps or by turning colorful discs.

Events

All events in German language!

Currently no events. Visit the publisher’s website for up-to-date events (visit website).

Contact

Verlag Ernst Kaufmann GmbH

Alleestraße 2
77933 Lahr

Germany

Phone +49 (0)7821 93 90-0

info@kaufmann-verlag.de
www.kaufmann-verlag.de

Contact Person

Publisher Dr. Klaus-Christoph Scheffels (-22), Thomas Schneble (-14)

Editorial Department Kristin Lückel (-23), Klara Kamlah (-20), Laura Lamping (-37)

Sales Ulrike Schmieder (-10)

Press and Marketing Anja Schaile (-19)
a.schaile@kaufmann-verlag.de

Production Annette Aatz (-18)

Foreign Rights Annette Meier (-12)

Kaufmann Verlag

Der Verlag und seine Geschichte

Adventskalender und Geschichtenbücher von ­Kaufmann haben schon viele der heutigen Eltern und Großeltern durch ihre Kindheit hindurch begleitet.

Mit seiner über 200-jährigen Geschichte gehört ­Kaufmann zu den Traditionshäusern in ­Deutschland. Der Verlag steht in liberaler ­evangelischer Tradition und ist ökumenisch profiliert. Darüber hinaus hat sich Kaufmann in den letzten Jahren immer deutlicher im ­Publikumsmarkt positioniert – mit den ­Aktivitäten im Kindergartenbereich, einem marktführenden Weihnachtsprogramm für Kinder, mit ­Bilder- und Vorlesebüchern – und nicht zuletzt mit ­erzählerischen Titeln im Erwachsenensegment, mit Jahreskalendern und Geschenkbüchern für viele Anlässe.

Kaufmann publiziert jährlich rund 80 Neu­erscheinungen und führt über 500 lieferbare Titel im Programm.

Wir lieben Geschichten!

Programm

Im Kinderprogramm bilden die Adventskalender einen besonderen Schwerpunkt: Sie erzählen Geschichten, regen zum kreativen Miteinander an und sind anspruchsvoll und aufwendig gestaltet. Die Palette reicht von großen Wand-Adventskalendern mit 24 Büchlein zum Herausnehmen, über Adventskalender im Buchformat mit Extras wie Postern, 3-D-Stickern, Fensterbild-Folien, weihnachtlichen Szenen zum Ausschneiden und Zusammenkleben bis hin zu Rate- und Rätselkalendern. Anspruchsvoll illustriert sind auch die Bilder- und Vorlesebücher für das Kindergarten- und Grundschulalter. Sie beschäftigen sich mit der Lebenswelt der Kinder und den kleinen und großen Herausforderungen, die das Großwerden mit sich bringt.

Einen weiteren Schwerpunkt im Kinderbuchprogramm bilden die religiösen Bücher. Vor allem für die vielfach ausgezeichneten Kinderbibeln, die in Sprache und Illustration anerkanntermaßen zu den besten im Markt gehören, ist Kaufmann bekannt. Minibibeln, Advents- und Osterkalender sowie erzählerische Bücher runden das Programm ab. Aufwendig illustrierte Geschenk- und Freundealben begleiten die großen Anlässe im Leben des Kindes, wie Taufe, Kindergarten, Schuleintritt, Erstkommu­n­ion und Konfirmation. Sie bewahren die großen Tage im Kinderleben und geben der Erinnerung Raum.

Seit 2013 erscheint die Reihe der bekannten und beliebten Zwergenstübchen Koch- und Backbücher für die ganze Familie beim Kaufmann Verlag. Mehrere der bekannten Zwergen­stübchen-Titel werden jedes Jahr neu aufgelegt und um neue Titel ergänzt.

Veranstaltungen

Keine aktuellen Veranstaltungen. Besuchen Sie auch die Website des Verlags, um sich über aktuelle Termine zu informieren (zur Website).

Kontakt

Verlag Ernst Kaufmann GmbH

Alleestraße 2
77933 Lahr

Deutschland

Tel. +49 (0)7821 93 90-0

info@kaufmann-verlag.de

Ansprechpartner

Geschäftsführung Dr. Klaus-Christoph Scheffels (-22), Thomas Schneble (-14)

Lektorat Kristin Lückel (-23), Klara Kamlah (-20), Felix Tolles (-17)

Vertrieb Ulrike Schmieder (-10)

Presse und Marketing Anja Schaile (-19)
a.schaile@kaufmann-verlag.de

Herstellung Annette Aatz (-18)

Rechte und Lizenzen Annette Meier (-12)