Klett Kinderbuch

The Publishing House and its History

Klett Kinderbuch was founded in Leipzig in 2008, as a small subsidiary of the big Stuttgart-based Klett Group. Since 2015 it's an independent publishing house. We produce seven to ten titles every season, for children between 2 and 12 years and their adults.

What’s Important to us

Everyday Adventures

We want to offer mainly pre-school and primary-school children authentic stories in which they can recognize their own lives. It’s fine if they’re sometimes rough, rude and unconventional, because luckily enough, children’s lives are often just that way, too.

Craving for Knowledge

We don’t mind children learning something from our books, but if they do then it has to be fun and take the royal road of good stories.

Books with Bite

We want to make books that get people excited and provoke arguments. Books that leave a mark on everyday life and get readers talking.

Ready, Steady, Read!

We want to make books that are spirited, catchy and true, but never dumb or boring. Books that automatically make children rush to get reading.

Program

Picture Books and More

Board books featuring familiar items, fun rhymes and exciting stories – our list for children from age two and up contains things they know but don’t often find in books: real life with ALL its aspects. Things in our stories may be wild and chaotic as in »Die Böckchen-Bande» (»The Billy Goats Gruff»), but we also allow room for serious matters, such as the story of a refugee family in »Bestimmt wird alles gut« (»Everything Will Be Alright«). Many of our books are not easy to categorize; for instance, our nonsense books like »Was sitzt im Wald und winkt?« (»What Sits in the Forest and Waves?«) and »Alle Kinder« (»All the children«) are popular among readers of all ages.

Children’s Stories

Unusual books such as our ›Elephant & Piggie‹-series and »Fünf Gramm Glück« (»Half a Pound of Happiness – Life of a Lunchbox«) make for an exciting start into children’s lives as readers. More advanced readers find suspense and fun in titles such as »Pullerpause im Tal der Ahnungslosen« (»A Comfort Break in the Valley of the Clueless«).

Everyday Knowledge

Our non-fiction books focus on the joy of discovery, and cover the really relevant subjects in children’s everyday lives. They inspire readers to join in and think along – for example the word treasure chest »Einfach alles!« (»Everything! Todo! Alles!«), the non-fiction picture book »Alle da!« (»All of Us, Together!«) about multicultural mixing and matching, or the wittily illustrated collection of children’s questions on love, sex and the body »Klär mich auf« (»Tell Me the Facts of Life«).

Authors and Illustrators

The majority of Klett Kinderbuch’s books are being developed in conjunction with German-speaking authors and illustrators. These include both exciting emerging talents and well-known greats such as Rotraut Susanne Berner, Kirsten Boie, Franziska Gehm, Werner Holzwarth, Anke Kuhl, Jörg Mühle, Eva Muszynski, Anja Tuckermann, Moni Port and Philip Waechter. License titles, for instance by Pernilla Stalfelt and Mo Willems, complete our list.

Current awards

  • Kranichsteiner Jugendliteratur-Stipendien 2021 – Franz Orghandl: Der Katze ist es ganz egal
  • Österreichischer Kinder- und Jugendbuchpreis 2021 – Franz Orghandl und Theresa Strozyk: Der Katze ist es ganz egal
  • KIMI Kinderbuchsiegel 2020 – Annika Leone: Überall Popos
  • KIMI Kinderbuchsiegel 2020 – Stina Wirsén: Wer stört denn da?
  • KIMI Kinderbuchsiegel 2020 – Franz Orghandl: Der Katze ist es ganz egal
    Illustratorin: Theresa Stroyzk
  • KIMI Kinderbuchsiegel 2020 – Kim Fupz Aakeson: Hugo und Hasan
    Illustrator: Rasmus Bregnhoi
  • EMYS-Sachbuchpreis 2018 – Monika Osberghaus & Thomas Engelhardt: Im Gefängnis - Ein Kinderbuch über das leben hinter Gittern

Events

All events in German language!

Currently no events. Visit the publisher’s website for up-to-date events (visit website).

Contact

Klett Kinderbuch Verlag GmbH

Richard-Lehmann-Straße 14
04275 Leipzig

Germany

Phone +49 (0)341 350 59 65

info@klett-kinderbuch.de
www.klett-kinderbuch.de

Contact Person

Managing Director Monika Osberghaus

Publisher Monika Osberghaus

Editorial Department Jana Hemer, Petra Buck

Assistance / Marketing Sandra Wiegmann

Marketing Julia Rosenkranz

Public Relations / Events Franziska Hauffe

Sales dtv Verlagsgesellschaft mbH & Co. KG
+49 (0)89 381 67 300
info@dtv.de

Foreign Rights dtv Verlagsgesellschaft mbH & Co. KG
Andrea Seibert
+49 (0)89 381 67 124
rights@dtv.de

Klett Kinderbuch

Der Verlag und seine Geschichte

Als kleiner Ableger des großen Stuttgarter Klett Konzerns ist der Klett Kinderbuch Verlag im Jahr 2008 in Leipzig gegründet worden. Hier entstehen pro Halbjahr sieben bis zehn neue Titel für Kinder zwischen 2 und 12 Jahren und ihre Erwachsenen.

Worauf es uns ankommt

Abenteuer Alltag

Wir wollen vor allem den Vor- und Grundschulkindern authentische Geschichten anbieten, in denen sie ihr eigenes Leben erkennen können. Das darf gerne mal unkorrekt und unkonventionell sein, denn so ist das Kinderleben glücklicherweise auch oft.

Wissenslust

Wir haben nichts dagegen, dass Kinder aus unseren Büchern etwas lernen, aber wenn, dann mit Spaß und über den Königsweg guter Geschichten.

Bücher mit Biss

Wir wollen Bücher machen, über die man sich auch aufregen und streiten kann. Bücher, die ihre Spuren im Alltag hinterlassen und Anlass zum Reden geben.

Loslesen!

Wir wollen Bücher machen, die schwungvoll, eingängig und wahrhaftig sind – und dabei weder doof noch langweilig. Bücher, mit denen das Loslesen ganz von selber passiert.

Programm

Bilderbuch und mehr

Sachbücher im Pappformat, witzige Reime und spannende Geschichten – hier findet sich wieder, was Kinder ab zwei aus ihrer Lebenswelt kennen, oft aber in Büchern vergeblich suchen: der echte Alltag mit ALLEN Facetten. Hier darf es wild und anarchisch zugehen wie bei der »Böckchen-Bande«, aber auch ernsten Themen bieten wir Raum, etwa der Geschichte einer Flucht in »Bestimmt wird alles gut«. Die Genregrenzen verlaufen dabei fließend, so haben Leser jeden Alters ihre Freude an unseren Quatschbüchern wie »Was sitzt im Wald und winkt?« und »Alle Kinder«.

Kindergeschichten

Für einen aufregenden Start ins Leben als Leser sorgen ungewöhnliche Titel wie unsere ›Elefant & Schweinchen‹-Reihe und »Fünf Gramm Glück – Die Lebensgeschichte einer Brotdose, erzählt von ihr selbst«. Spannung und Spaß für erfahrenere Leser gibt’s mit Büchern wie »Pullerpause im Tal der Ahnungslosen«.

Alltagswissen

In unseren Sachbüchern zu den wirklich relevanten Themen des Kinderalltags steht Entdeckerlust an erster Stelle, sie regen dabei zum Mitdenken und Mitmachen an. Etwa die Wort-Schatz-Kiste »Einfach alles!«, das Sachbilderbuch über unser multikulturelles Miteinander »Alle da!« oder die witzig bebilderte Kinderfragensammlung zu Liebe, Sex und Körper »Klär mich auf«.

Autoren und Illustratoren

Ein Großteil der Klett Kinderbücher wird gemeinsam mit deutschsprachigen Autoren und Illustratoren entwickelt. Hierzu gehören neben vielen talentierten Nachwuchskünstlern namhafte Größen wie Rotraut Susanne Berner, Kirsten Boie, Franziska Gehm, Werner Holzwarth, Anke Kuhl, Jörg Mühle, Eva Muszynski, Anja Tuckermann, Moni Port und Philip Waechter. Lizenztitel, u. a. von Pernilla Stalfelt und Mo Willems, ergänzen das Programm.

Aktuelle Preise

  • HUCKEPACK Bilderbuchpreis 2016 – Stina Wirsén: Klein

Veranstaltungen

Keine aktuellen Veranstaltungen. Besuchen Sie auch die Website des Verlags, um sich über aktuelle Termine zu informieren (zur Website).

Kontakt

Klett Kinderbuch Verlag GmbH

Richard-Lehmann-Straße 14
04275 Leipzig

Deutschland

Tel. +49 (0)341 350 59 65

info@klett-kinderbuch.de
www.klett-kinderbuch.de

Ansprechpartner

Geschäftsführung Monika Osberghaus

Verlagsleitung Monika Osberghaus
osberghaus@klett-kinderbuch.de

Lektorat Jana Hemer
hemer@klett-kinderbuch.de

Assistenz / Marketing Franziska Hauffe
hauffe@klett-kinderbuch.de

Presse / Lesungen Hannah Moser
moser@klett-kinderbuch.de

Vertrieb dtv Verlagsgesellschaft mbH & Co. KG
+49 (0)89 381 670
info@dtv.de

Rechte & Lizenzen dtv Verlagsgesellschaft mbH & Co. KG
Constanze Chory
+49 (0)89 381 67 125
chory.constanze@dtv.de