Atlantis

© © FROM: »DIE WALDLINGE«, ILLUSTRATION BY MARIA STALDER, 2020

The Publishing House and its History

The Atlantis Publishing House was founded in Berlin by Martin Hürlimann in 1930. Following a disappointing search for a picture book to give to his first daughter, he and his wife, Bettina Hürlimann-Kiepenheuer, decided to publish their own children’s books. In 1939, the Hürlimanns and their business re-located to Zurich. Atlantis picture books soon set the standards for the industry. On one hand, each book was personally designed down to the tiniest detail by the »Book Lady«, while at the same time, the publishers were active around the world (IBBY, BIB). Some books from this period are still in print, for example, Heidrun Petrides’ classic story, »Xaver and Wastl« (1962).

Atlantis was influenced by the personal interests of the publishing couple and thus produced books of photography, music and world literature (for example, Max Frisch). In 1981, the company was divided. From this date until 2003, the children’s book division was run by the Pro Juventute Foundation, focusing on high quality picture books and informative self-help guides for parents.

During a time when other traditional Swiss publishers were sold to foreign companies, Atlantis found a fortunate solution: with the support of the Orell Fussli Publishing House in Zurich (»We have made books since 1519«) , the Atlantis program has been free to continue along its independent path.

Simply good picture books.

Illustration from »Ginting und Ganteng – Eine illustrierte Reportage über Orang-Utans auf Sumatra« (978-3-7152-0775-9)

Program

Atlantis picture books always display strong accents, both in terms of content and graphics. Particular attention is paid to individual style, for example „Die zweite Arche“ by Heinz Janisch und Hannes Binder. Despite innovative ideas and unusual illustrations, Atlantis picture books remain close to their audience. The works by the successful duo Lorenz Pauli and Kathrin Schärer regularly end up being bestsellers and inspire children, booksellers and critics alike.

Supporting material for each book in our non-fiction series, ›Atlantis Themes‹ is available on our website and can be downloaded free of charge. Each of our non-fiction books is individually designed and written by experienced authors and experts in the appropriate field.

Over 150 picture books are currently on stock, including the popular rhyme, game, arts and crafts books of Susanne Stöcklin-Meier and the cult series, ›Barbapapa‹.

Current awards

  • Leipziger Lesekompass 2020 – Jörg Isermeyer und Daniel Napp: Ene, mene, Eierkuchen

Preview Catalogues

Events

All events in German language!

Currently no events. Visit the publisher’s website for up-to-date events (visit website).

Contact

Atlantis Verlag

Orell Füssli Verlag
Dietzingerstraße 3
8036 Zürich

Switzerland

Phone +41 (0)44 466 77-11

kinderbuch@ofv.ch
www.atlantis-verlag.ch

Contact Person

Director Program/Editorial Department
Eva Roth
eva.roth@ofv.ch

Director Sales / Marketing
René Busse
+41 (0)44 466 74 37
vertrieb@ofv.ch

Marketing / Events
Franziska Suter
+41 (0)44 466 74 24
franziska.suter@ofv.ch

Manuscripts manuskripte.atlantis@ofv.ch

Public Relations
Stephanie Fabian
+41 (0)44 466 74 28
stephanie.fabian@ofv.ch

Foreign Rights
Luana Carvalho
+41 (0) 44 466 74 45
rights@ofv.ch

Atlantis

© © AUS: »DIE WALDLINGE«, ILLUSTRATION VON MARIA STALDER, 2020

Der Verlag und seine Geschichte

Martin Hürlimann gründete den Atlantis-Verlag 1930 in Berlin. Als er für seine erste Tochter ein Bilderbuch suchte, war er enttäuscht vom Angebot und beschloss, zusammen mit seiner Frau Bettina Hürlimann-Kiepenheuer, selbst Kinderbücher zu verlegen. 1939 zog das Paar mit dem Verlag nach Zürich. Die Atlantis-Bilderbücher wurden zu einem Programm, das Maßstäbe setzt; geprägt von der »Bücherfrau«, die einerseits ihre Bücher bis ins Detail mitgestaltete und andererseits weltweit aktiv war (IBBY, BIB). Bis heute sind Titel aus dieser Zeit im Programm, etwa »Der Xaver und der Wastl« (1962) von Heidrun Petrides.

Der Atlantis-Verlag verlegte auch Bildbände, Musikbücher und Weltliteratur (z.B. Max Frisch) und war geprägt von den persönlichen Interessen des Verlegerpaars. 1981 wurde der Verlag aufgeteilt. Die Stiftung Pro Juventute übernahm den Kinderbuchteil und verband damit qualitativ hochwertige Bilderbücher mit praxisorientierten Elternratgebern.

In einer Zeit, in der andere Schweizer Traditions­verlage an ausländische Konzerne verkauft wurden, fand sich 2003 für Atlantis eine glückliche Lösung: Unter dem Dach der Orell Füssli Verlag in Zürich (»Wir machen Bücher seit 1519«) wird das bisherige Programm mit eigenem Auftritt weitergeführt. So betreut das Atlantis-­Lektorat heute auch die Bilderbuch-Klassiker von Alois Carigiet (seit 1971 bei Orell Füssli).

Bilderbücher zum Staunen

Bild aus »Ginting und Ganteng – Eine illustrierte Reportage über Orang-Utans auf Sumatra« (978-3-7152-0775-9)

Programm

Atlantis-Bilderbücher setzen inhaltlich und ­grafisch Akzente; ein Schwerpunkt sind betont ­individuelle Stile, etwa „Die zweite Arche“ von Heinz Janisch und Hannes Binder. Trotz ­außergewöhnlichen Ideen und Illustrationen bleiben Atlantis-­Bilder­bücher nahe am Publikum: Sonja Bougaeva hat mit ihren Büchern große Aufmerksamkeit erlangt und mit ihrem Witz zugleich viele Kinder erreicht. Die Werke des erfolgreichen Duos Lorenz Pauli und Kathrin Schärer werden regelmäßig zu Bestsellern und begeistern Kinder, Buchhandel und Kritiker.

Die beliebten und erfolgreichen Sachbilderbücher der Reihe ›atlantis-thema‹ sind erzählt wie ein Bilderbuch und detailgenau wie ein Sachbuch. Zu vielen Titeln gibt es Begleitmaterialien als Gratis-Download auf der Verlagshomepage. Jedes Sachbilderbuch ist individuell gestaltet, von versierten Autorinnen und Autoren entwickelt und von Fachleuten begleitet.

Lieferbar sind rund 150 Bilderbücher, unter anderem die beliebten Verse-, Spiel und Bastelbücher von Susanne Stöcklin-Meier sowie die zum Kult gewordenen Barbapapa-Bilderbücher.

Aktuelle Preise

  • Leipziger Lesekompass 2020 – Jörg Isermeyer und Daniel Napp: Ene, mene, Eierkuchen
  • KIMI Kinderbuchsiegel 2019 – Emilio Urberuaga: Hilda das Riesenschaf

Aktuelle Vorschauen

Veranstaltungen

Keine aktuellen Veranstaltungen. Besuchen Sie auch die Website des Verlags, um sich über aktuelle Termine zu informieren (zur Website).

Kontakt

Atlantis im Orell Füssli Verlag

Orell Füssli Verlag
Dietzingerstraße 3
8036 Zürich

Schweiz

Tel. +41 (0)44 466 77-11

kinderbuch@ofv.ch
www.atlantis-verlag.ch

Ansprechpartner

Leitung Programm / Lektorat
Eva Roth
eva.roth@ofv.ch

Leitung Vertrieb / Marketing
René Busse
+41 (0)44 466 74 37
vertrieb@ofv.ch

Marketing / Veranstaltungen
Franziska Suter
+41 (0)44 466 74 24
franziska.suter@ofv.ch

Abdruckrechte/Bilderbuchkino/Kamishibai
Luana Carvalho
+41 (0) 44 466 74 45
rights@ofv.ch

Rechte und Lizenzen
Luana Carvalho
rights@ofv.ch

Manuskripte manuskripte.atlantis@ofv.ch

Presse
Stephanie Fabian
+41 (0)44 466 74 28
stephanie.fabian@ofv.ch