HERDER Verlags GmbH

The Publishing House and its History

Founded in 1801, Verlag Herder has been one of the great German family companies for 200 years. Today, it is run by the sixth generation of the Herder family. Since its founding, the publisher has continually included children’s books in its range of publications, both religious and secular. In 1997, the independent KeRLE publishing house, originally founded by Herder in Vienna in 1995, was transferred to the Herder headquarters in Freiburg. At KeRLE, you will find classics like »The Happy Lion«, »My wonderful fairy tale world«, »The Little King Kalle Wirsch«, and »Herder’s Big Picture Dictionary«.

Program

Strong Books – Strong Kids

That’s the tagline KeRLE uses to promote its programme. KeRLE takes children seriously and publishes books that children, parents and booksellers enjoy reading. Children can identify with the books, and parents can see that KeRLE books make reading fun and teach their children things without being in any way educational.

With its high-profile authors and expressive illustrators, the publishing house offers a modern and well-conceived programme of picture books, read-aloud books and books for children up to 11 years old. The Herder and KeRLE publishing houses have always placed particular emphasis on fostering and establishing German-language authors of children’s books.

The Herder publishing provide opportunities for children to discover the world of human values for themselves and deal with topics such as society, religion and faith. Various editions of the Bible, prayer books for different age groups, communion and confirmation publications, as well as non-fiction works on religious themes all featuring high-quality texts and illustrations stand for a strong programme and for Herder’s close affinity with the Christian tradition.

Authors and Illustrators

Authors KeRLE

Andrea Behnke, Annette Langen, Christine Merz, Tilde Michels, Käthe Recheis, Katja Reider, Barbara Rose, Lucy Scharenberg, Ursel Scheffler, Sylvia Schopf, Patricia Schröder, Iris Schürmann-Mock u. a.

Authors Herder

Albert Biesinger, Max Bollinger, Anselm Grün, Frank Hartmann, Luise Holthausen, Franz Hübner, Erich Jooß, Margot Käßmann, Julia Knop, Annette Langen, Marcus C. Leitschuh, Ursel Scheffler, Georg Schwikart, Stephan Sigg, Ingrid Uebe, Sabine Zett u. a.

Illustrators

Barbara Bedrischka-Bös, Fréderic Bertrand, Elisabeth Bruder, Jane Chapman, Giuliano Ferri, Ciara Flood, Betina Gotzen-Beek, Susanne Göhlich, Carolin Görtler, Franziska Harvey, Dagmar Henze, Yvonne Hoppe-Engbring, Stefanie Reich, Thorsten Saleina, Stefanie Scharnberg, Edda Skibbe, Annette Swoboda, Ute Thönissen, Tim Warners, Frauke Weldin, ZAPF u. a.

Publications

  • Auf die Piste - fertig - los!

    Author
    Felix Neureuther & Bastain Schweinsteiger
    Illustrator
    Sabine Straub
    Infos
  • Die Bibel für Kinder

    Author
    Margot Käßmann
    Infos
  • Meine schönsten Kindergebete

    Illustrator
    Irmi Riedl
    Infos
  • Purzelbäume für den lieben Gott

    Author
    Franz Hübner
    Infos
  • Der glückliche Löwe

    Author
    Louise Fatio
    Illustrator
    Roger Duvoisin
    Infos

Events

All events in German language!

Currently no events. Visit the publisher’s website for up-to-date events (visit website).

Contact

Verlag Herder GmbH

Hermann-Herder-Str. 4
79104 Freiburg

Germany

Phone +49 (0)761 2717300

kundenservice@herder.de
www.herder.de/kizz/

Contact Person

Managing Director Manuel Herder

Program Jochen Fähndrich

Children’s book editors Annemarie Boudart, Dagmar Eßlinger-Hödl, Raphaela Kern, Nadja Juckel

Rights and Licences Francesca Bressan

Distribution Koch, Neff und Oetinger (Germany, Austria), Buchzentrum AG (Switzerland)

HERDER Verlags GmbH

Der Verlag und seine Geschichte

Der 1801 gegründete Verlag Herder gehört seit über 200 Jahren zu den großen deutschen Familienunternehmen. Geschäftsführer in sechster Generation ist Manuel Herder. Anspruchsvolle Kinderbücher gehören schon seit der Gründung zum Programm, sowohl im religiösen als auch im weltlichen Bereich. So findet man bei Herder, Klassiker wie »Der Glückliche Löwe«, »Die große Herder Kinderbibel«, »Meine wunderbare Märchenwelt«, oder »Herders großes Bilderlexikon« und ein ausgewähltes Bilderbuchprogramm mit erfolgreichen Titeln wie »Ein Einhorn für Greta«, »Auf die Piste, fertig, los!« oder »Ich halt dich fest, mein Kleiner«.

1997 wurde der von Herder Wien gegründete KeRLE Verlag integriert und um Synergien mit der Zeitschrift kizz zu nutzen, in kizz umbenannt.

Programm

Das Herder Kinderbuchprogramm bietet viele Möglichkeiten, die Welt der Werte für sich zu entdecken und sich mit den Themen Gesellschaft, Religion und Glauben auseinanderzusetzen. Die in Text und Bild hochwertigen Bibelausgaben, Gebetbücher für verschiedene Altersgruppen, Erstkommunion- und Firmtitel sowie Sachbücher zu religiösen Themen, stehen für ein starkes Programm und für die Verbundenheit mit der christlichen Tradition des Hauses Herder.

Unter dem Label kizz entstehen Bilder- und Kinderbücher, die in unseren Kleinen von Beginn an die Leselust wecken und sie auf die Abenteuer des Lebens vorbereiten. Den Claim Für die Abenteuer des Lebens hat sich das Label auch zum Leitsatz gemacht, weil es genau das ist, wovon der Verlag überzeugt ist: Kindheit ist ein Abenteuer, jeden Tag neu. Mit diesem Programm erleben Kinder und Eltern, dass Lesen Spaß macht und ihre Sprösslinge etwas lernen. Ganz ohne allzu pädagogisch zu sein.

Mit profilierten Autoren und ausdrucksstarken Illustratoren bietet der Verlag ein modernes und gut durchdachtes Bilder-, Vorlese- und Kinderbuchprogramms bis 11 Jahre. Deutschsprachige Autoren zu fördern und aufzubauen – darauf legt man bei Herder immer besonderen Wert.

Autoren und Illustratoren

Autoren

Max Bollinger, Anselm Grün, Frank Hartmann, Luise Holthausen, Franz Hübner, Erich Jooß, Margot Käßmann, Julia Knop, Diana Meier-Soriat, Ursel Scheffler, Stephan Sigg, Ingrid Uebe, Sabine Zett u. a.

Felix Neureuther, Jane Chapman, Amy Young, Andrea Behnke, Annette Langen, Tilde Michels, Käthe Recheis, Katja Reider, Barbara Rose, Ursel Scheffler, Barbara van den Speulhoff, Iris Schürmann-Mock u. a.

Illustratoren

Nina Hammerle, Sabine Straub, Christine Kugler, Barbara Bedrischka-Bös, Tessa Rath, Angela Glökler, Jane Chapman, Giuliano Ferri, Inka Vigh, Betina Gotzen-Beek, Susanne Göhlich, Carolin Görtler, Franziska Harvey, Dagmar Henze, Irmi Riedl, Stefanie Reich, Thorsten Saleina, Stefanie Scharnberg, Edda Skibbe, Annette Swoboda, Ute Thönissen, u. a.

Publikationen

  • Auf die Piste - fertig - los!

    Autor/in
    Felix Neureuther & Bastain Schweinsteiger
    Illustrator/in
    Sabine Straub
    Infos
  • Die Bibel für Kinder

    Autor/in
    Margot Käßmann
    Infos
  • Meine schönsten Kindergebete

    Illustrator/in
    Irmi Riedl
    Infos
  • Purzelbäume für den lieben Gott

    Autor/in
    Franz Hübner
    Infos
  • Der glückliche Löwe

    Autor/in
    Louise Fatio
    Illustrator/in
    Roger Duvoisin
    Infos

Veranstaltungen

Keine aktuellen Veranstaltungen. Besuchen Sie auch die Website des Verlags, um sich über aktuelle Termine zu informieren (zur Website).

Kontakt

Verlag Herder GmbH

Hermann-Herder-Str. 4
79104 Freiburg

Deutschland

Tel. +49 (0)761 2717300

kundenservice@herder.de
www.herder.de/unternehmen/verlage/

Ansprechpartner

Geschäftsführung Manuel Herder

Programmleitung Jochen Fähndrich

Kinderbuchlektorat Annemarie Boudart, Dagmar Eßlinger-Hödl, Raphaela Kern, Nadja Juckel

Rechte und Lizenzen

In- & Ausland: Francesca Bressan

Auslieferung Koch, Neff und Oetinger (Deutschland und Österreich), Buchzentrum AG (Schweiz)

Manuskriptangebote können Sie über die Herder Scriptbakery einreichen:
https://herder.scriptbakery.de/